Mosaic Planning and Controls

Maintaining your PMI-SP® credential

PMI's Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) Overview

PMI’s Continuing Certification Requirements (CCR) program is designed to support the ongoing educational and professional development of credential holders. Everyone who earns a PMI credential (with the exception of the CAPM® certification) must actively maintain their credential(s) through participation in the CCR Program and renewal of their certification(s) every 3 years. The CCR program provides a general framework and guidance - you determine your ultimate CCR and development path.


PMI-SP holders must obtain 30 PDUs during each three-year CCR cycle in the specialised area of project scheduling and comply with PMI's renewal requirements (including payment of a fee) to maintain their certification status. (PMP holders click here for more information on the PMP requirements).

Holders of multiple certifications can use the same PDUs for all of the certifications they hold, provided the subject-matter is relevant. However, the 3-year cycle for each credential is based on the date of your examination - they are not synchronised.

All current holders of a PMI credential can be confirmed by checking PMI’s on-line registry at: 

If your credential is not renewed at the appropriate time, your name is removed from this list. For more on the consequences of not achieving the CCR requirements, see 'earning and reporting PDUs'

For additional information download PMI's CCR Handbook.


CCR Handbook.jpg

Key elements in this section include:


The difference between PDUs and Training Contact Hours

It is important to understanding the difference between PDUs and the Eligible Training Hours needed to apply for an exam.

Eligible Training Hours

The training contact hours required to apply for your credential are accrued by completing courses, workshops and/or training sessions that include content that is relevant to the specialist area of project scheduling and the PMI-SP examination outline. Both classroom based and distance education courses are acceptable (but not self-directed training). See more on PMI's 'eligible training requirements'.

PDUs are different!

Professional Development Units (PDUs) are required to maintain PM's professional credentials after they have been awarded and can be earned in a variety of ways (see below). Completing our PMI-SP course earns you 40 PDUs to apply towards any other PMI credentials you hold. Under the PMI 'Talent Triangle®' you earn 5 PDUs under the leadership category and 35 PDUs under the technical category. (see more on the  'Talent Triangle®')


Earning and reporting PDUs

PDUs.gifProfessional Development Units (PDUs) are required to maintain PMI's professional credentials including the PMI-SP. PDUs can be earned from a wide range of activities (including self-study), but you can only start earning PDUs after you have passed your exam.

In addition to earning and reporting PDUs, the consequences of failing to earn the PDUs required in a three-year cycle are outlined.

For more on PDUs see 'Earning PDUs and keeping your credential active'.



PMI's Talent Triangle

pmi-talent-triangle.pngThe PMI Talent Triangle™ divides the education and training component of the PDUs into three sections. You are required to earn a minimum number of PDUs in each section; but provided the minimums are achieved in each section, there are no maximums specified.

The three sections of the Talent Triangle™ are; Technical Project Management, Leadership, and Strategic and Business Management. Many training courses now define the split between these three elements; where this has not been done by the training organisation, PMI expected the credential holder to make a reasonable determination.

See more on the PMI Talent Triangle™.  


Note: if there is any conflict between the summary information contained on this page and the detailed information contained on the PMI website or in the CCR handbook, the PMI information takes precedence. This information is provided to assist PMI examination candidates and credential holders to understand their obligations, it is not necessarily up to date or accurate. All CCR forms are copyright of PMI.